Babymoon: week two

For anyone reading this: this post has been sitting in my draft folder for 6+ months, half finished. I just got an email that the domain was renewing so I figured I should finish the post and publish it!

Tuesday: We drove from St. Augustine to Destin, FL! We stayed at an RV park located right on the beach. This was easily the most expensive RV park we’ve ever been to at $150/night AND we weren’t even directly on the beach – we were one row back! Either way, we could (very softly and if you listened really closely) hear the ocean from our window while we slept. Mark hates it when I sleep with the windows open because it’s “too hot and humid.” I just play the pregnancy card and we sleep with the windows open 🙂  Even though it was dreary out – you can still tell how awesome it was to be so close to the beach!!

IMG_5652

IMG_5655

Wednesday: Another beach day! But first, breakfast! I spent an unnatural amount of time seeking out the best breakfast place, and alas, we were not disappointed! We ate at Another Broken Egg Cafe which is located in a little resort community: Baytowne Wharf. This community was suuuuper cute and had tons of shops and places to eat!

IMG_5680

all this food for 2 (2.5?) people – eeeeek

IMG_5658

Thursday: Today we drove to New Orleans! We stayed at the French Quarter RV Resort which was pretty much right in the French Quarter so that was pretty cool as we could walk pretty much anywhere! As soon as we got ourselves situated at our RV site, we walked right into the French Quarter and directly to Bourbon Street. THINGS I WAS NOT PREPARED FOR: Bourbon Street. I mean, it was 4 o’clock on a Thursday and the street was packed. Music was blaring, people were drunk. There were strippers trying to persuade Mark and I into their establishments every six steps. There were drag queens doing the same. A 10 year old boy tried to hustle us into god only knows what (I only engaged with the conversation because I thought he was lost or something, SO NAIVE OF ME).  Bartenders were shouting their drink specials into our faces. I. WAS. OVERWHELMED.

Apparently, the pregnant belly not a giveaway that we were not interested in anything but beignets and people watching. After about 8 minutes of walking down Bourbon St. we needed to leave before I went into premature labor from over stimulation.

We went to Cafe Du Monde where I was soothed into a deep-friend doughnut food coma. It was blissful. We grabbed some dinner and I (for the first time) ate gumbo! It was delicious and I’ve been missing out my entire life.

IMG_5701

IMG_5700

Friday: We needed to avoid Bourbon St. like whoa so we decided to see what else the greater New Orleans area had to offer us! We decided to go see some plantation and drive around the backroads of New Orleans. But first: Beignets. This time from Cafe Beignet. It has just started to rain and was brunch time so the place was packed but I was determined to get my fix so I waited in line for about 20 mins. Once I was back into my food coma, we made our way to the plantations. We stopped first at Evergreen Plantation. We did not intend to stop at this plantation but it looked cool from the road so we did. Their tour times did not work with our schedule so we snapped a few pics and moved on.

Evergreen Plantation, New Orleans

Evergreen Plantation, New Orleans

Evergreen Plantation, New Orleans

Evergreen Plantation, New Orleans

Next up was Laura Plantation. This was one of my favorite things we did on our entire trip because it was not what you expected. When I thought of plantations, I thought of big white houses and Laura Plantation was anything but white! It is a Creole Style plantation and absolutely beautiful!

laura plantation

Laura Plantation

an old building on the plantation, waiting for restoration!

Up next was Oak Alley Plantation. This plantation is named after the gorgeous Oak lined driveway leading up to it!

Oak Alley Plantation

Oak Alley Plantation

What is bigger? The backpack or baby bump??

Saturday: We read about the “World’s Longest Bridge” (Lake Pontchartrain Causeway) which is located just outside NOLA and we figured it was worth checking out! As described in a USA today article “According to the Guinness Book of World Records, the Lake Pontchartrain Causeway (126,122 feet long) is the longest continuous bridge passing over water, the waters of New Orleans’s Lake Pontchartrain to be exact. The bridge is so long that for 8 of its 24 miles, you can’t see land in any direction.”

So basically we drove 30 mins to the bridge, drove over the bridge, turned around and drove back over the bridge, drove 30 mins back to our RV site.

lake-pontchartrain-causeway

An ariel view of part of the bridge

IMG_8503

this is the only picture I have from our roundtrip on the bridge

Sunday:

Pretty boring day – we tackled the 8 hour drive to Nashville, TN!

View of downtown Nashville from The Honky Tonk Central bar!

View of downtown Nashville from The Honky Tonk Central bar!

Monday:

We started the day with a delicious breakfast at the cutest, most hole in the wall place a little outside of Nashville! It was well worth the wait. I snapped a pic of one of the dishes Mark got to eat which was french toast and pancakes with nutella and bananas. Basically Heaven for a pregnant woman.

IMG_5829

Tuesday:

Another boring day of driving 8 hours back home! Up next? Baby Shower for our little princess!!!

Leave a comment